Why am I writing here?

I came across the Blogging 101 which has different blogging tasks for each day. Although I already wrote three posts, I’m doing it, because I like the challenge and I think it can really help me.

So which article am I talking about? -> this one

Today’s assignment: write and publish a

“who I am and why I’m here” post.

Okay here I go.

I describe myself as a creative person. I love art, drama, crafting, film making, photography and of course writing. They’re all part of who I am and I have a hard time living without them. I started writing in elementary school. You know the assignements you get, like ‘write a 50word story’ and stuff. I really liked it, but I’ve never thought of writing as a hobby. Back then it was something I’d only do in school. In grade 5 we had to write poems and that was when I discovered that I really enjoy writing. The first poem I ever wrote was about a horse race and I didn’t describe what happened, I described what the horse race sounded like. My second ever poem was about a bird in the evening and the romantic feeling of sunset. I’m very fond of it, because I was just 11 or 12 when I wrote it. And it has been published in the ‘Frankfurter Bibliothek’ a huge book full of poems from German writers.
Then I wrote poems for a few years, always juggling between three languages: German, English and French. Although German is my mother tongue I’ve settled with English – at least when I’m writing (or blogging). You may wonder why, right? To me it’s the sensation to write about your thoughts, ideas and feeling in a language, where you don’t know every word. This way I think more about how I want to write, which words to choose. I like it. Often I even have words or sentence structures in my head, and I don’t know what they mean, but I know exactly how to use them. It’s a little scary sometimes.

Back to what I was trying to say. Now I try to keep a blog in order to get some routine in writing. I couldn’t write a poem every night, or well I could – but then it wouldn’t be fun if it’s under pressure or forced. I write poems when I am inspired or when I just want to write one. A blog could be more liberate. I can write about anything, whatever pops into my mind. Sometimes I just like to blurt about things I see or things I think about. I am convinced that every idea is worth sharing! It’s the reason why I have this public blog instead of a private journal or a diary. Often I read what other people do and it inspires me to do the same or something entirely different. Any idea you keep in your head just for yourself is a wasted idea. But if you write, sing or draw about it, it’s out in the open. It can bloom and become something you’ve never thought it could ever become. I always admire people who create awesome stuff – who write well, draw mindblowing pictures, shoot magnificent photos or films and then I look at myself – still at the beginning. Truth is, I am just at the start, I am a toddler who just took her first steps and now tries to walk like the adults do. But I will never learn to walk if I always sit still. So I am doing something – anything. It doesn’t really matter as long as I do it. So I am writing, a public blog. Out there in the open. I am inviting you to watch me fall and rise again. And hopefully you will, too. For one day we all have to learn how to walk.

Why should you stick with me? Well I can’t say, it’s a decision you have to make. I will post interesting things, I will post things you already know and I surely post things you don’t like or you don’t understand. But that’s okay! The human mind isn’t perfect. We don’t have solely perfect thoughts. As long as the world isn’t fully and truly flawless, my blog won’t be either. But if you’re interested and open-minded then this wouldn’t bother you at all. We find perfection in imperfection.

Last but not least: Where do I see myself and this blog in one year?
Well, I hope that this blog is full of things that moved me. I hope I have a layout that fully satisfy me and I hope to meet people who inspire me and who I can inspire in return. Oh and I hope to be a better writer then. And maybe, but just maybe, I’ll know what I’m actually doing here.

I think that’s all I want to stay.

So stick with me and watch me learning or read another blog – you can do whatever you like :)

 

— Baylie

 

 

2 Comments

  1. welcome to the world of blogging. I’ve been at it a week and I have to say it’s definitely forced me to expand my writing beyond just my novel and it’s been loads of fun :)

    • Hello there :)

      Thank you! I welcome you as well!
      It’s amazing, isn’t it? How different media force you to write differently. It’s like you change your way of thinking, or at least it feels like it to me. I wish you good luck with your blog and thank you for following me :D

Leave a Reply

