About Identity

Hello guys!

Today I’d like to share some poetry with you. I have written earlier that I quite like poems because they got me started in writing.
The poem I’m going to post is called ‘I Am’ and it is about identity. Since I am not the stereotypical woman or stereotypical African-German, I have heard a lot of things, beginning with ‘What? You like yy? I thought you’d love xy because you’re a girl/mixed/small/etc’.
Sometimes it’s kind of annoying that people often assume things on you based on your gender, sexuality or looks. That’s what ‘I Am’ is all about. There’s so much more to people than looks or these stupid gender roles we learned about. So to everyone who got misjudged in his life – this one is for you!

I am

I am a girl, I should love dresses,

but I love trousers instead.

I am young, I should be pure.

What if I am already spoiled?

I am a Christian, so I should go to church.

I am rather praying every night.

I am a loving person, therefore I should be in love,

but I am not and I am happy.

I am a pessimist, I should make everyone depressed,

seems like I failed.

I am encouraging them instead.

I am not crying, thus I should be happy,

but I am always sad.

I am not complaining, so I should not have any problems,

what if they are just eating me up inside?

I am playing video games, so I must be a boy,

well I am certainly not.

I am writing poems, so I must be Shakespeare,

sorry, I am just myself.

As you can see, I am a human being,

so I should be like the others.

But I am not.

I am a lot of things,

but most of all I am a dreamer.

I build castles in this starry sky

so accept me as I am.

I wrote the poem for the Daniil Pashkoff Prize 2012 and while I didn’t win the first prize, it still got featured as one of the selected poems for the anthology. It makes me really happy and proud.
I also wrote a poem for this year’s Daniil Pashkoff Prize (The contest is held every 2 years), but I am not allowed to publish it anywhere until the contest is over.

If you have any questions, feedback, don’t hesitate to comment or send me a message :)

— Baylie

Leave a Reply

